Mid-Life Crisis Hits 20-Somethings

I have noticed a general malcontentedness amongst myself and my close friends in the past year, regarding the people we choose to surround ourselves with, how we choose to live our lives, and also our chosen career paths. Yes, some of my friends are nine-to-fivers, but most of us are freelance creatives. It seems that with our generation of baby-boomer offspring, we have been given the freedom to choose what we want, but it still comes laced with the responsibility of what we really should be doing and what is expected of us.

To start my story, I’m a beauty and fashion photographer. Still at the up-and-coming/struggling stage. I have been since… well I guess since I graduated from photography school three and a half years ago. I’ve been lucky enough to be assisting commercial photographers as well as shooting my own portfolio work. My images are getting better and better everyday. I’ve even been lucky enough to have gotten some positive feedback from photo reps who are gently nudging me forward. I love shooting, I get excited about new ideas for shoots, and I can’t really imagine doing anything else for the rest of my life.

Except travel. It used to be that every 2-3 years I would have a breakdown and leave the country, usually to go home to Hong Kong. (That’s where I grew up before moving to California.) I explained it as being homesick. But in the last three years, the breakdowns have been happening closer and closer together and I am not going home. In the last year I went to Guatemala for 5 weeks, Mexico for 2, and London for 3 weeks. And I am currently trying to figure out a way to be out of the country for 2 months at the beginning of next year. What is it that has me itching to get out? Am I trying to avoid growing up or am I looking for a place to call home?

Recommended Reading: Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert: An inspiring read for those in search of something more.

~ by Jen C. on 06/11/2007.

One Response to “Mid-Life Crisis Hits 20-Somethings”

  1. I feel the SAME exact way. I recently was lucky enough to escape my day job for a month and run away to Santa Fe, NM. They have an incredible art scene there, which made it hard for me to leave the place and come back to my daily grind. And it is a grind. I am an artist/designer in Manhattan, working as a graphic designer by day, painting and doing freelance by night.

    They say moms are always right, and mine says that teaching would be a great thing for me. YOu get 2 months paid vacation, a TON of weeks off during the school year, and your day is done at 3pm! So I’m considering it. Although it seems like the “Safe” route, there are lots of perks that will keep my badass self happy. Did I mention the good health insurance? Comes in handy when I want to rock climb and such. hahah.

    Anyway, I enjoyed reading your blog. If you want to see my work, visit http://www.kristenterrana.com

    Kristen

Leave a Reply

 
