The Process: Tentative plan

THAILAND


Credit: Map from University of Texas (click for larger view)

I’ll be heading to Ko Tao, a little island near Ko Samui to go scuba diving and start training in muay thai boxing. Haven’t decided how long I’ll stay, but when Matt arrives, I’ll probably meet him in Bangkok for a few days and when I’m ready to move on, I’ll head up to Chiang Mai by train to visit with M’s grand parents and travel around the area.

Holidays and festivals in Thailand (taken from Let’s Go Thailand)
Mar-Apr – Poi Sang Long, Mae Hong Son: Shan tribal celebration of young monks.
Apr 13-15 – Songkran: Thai New Year (Chiang Mai is the best place for it)

CHINA

Credit: Map from University of Texas (Click for larger view)

From Thailand, I plan on going overland through Laos into Southwestern China. Some of the places that sound interesting are: Xishuangbanna, Deqin, Dali, Kunming, Anshun, Kali (Chongan, Shibing, Zhenyuan, Tongren, Xijiang), Longsheng, Guilin, Yangshuo, Nanning.

Then coming down the South Cost, I’d hit up Hainan Island for China’s own tropical paradise and then continue on to Xiamen, Quanzhou, Fuzhou, and Wuyishan.

On my way up to Shanghai, in the Yangzi Basin, there are a few mountainous areas, Wudangshan, Lushan, and Huangshan. It should be very surreal to come from hiking through the mountains and then end in sci-fi Shanghai!

From here on out, it’ll be the journey back home. And literally. Back to Hong Kong where I grew up. But, I will take my time through Anhui, Hubei, Hunan, and Guangdong provinces until I finally cross the China border into Hong Kong.

And at this point I will probably never want to see a train or a trail ever again.

~ by Jen C. on 30/11/2007.

Leave a Reply

 
